2018 Federal Holidays Calendar – US Federal Government Holidays

2018 Federal Holidays Calendar: A federal holiday is an authorized holiday which has been recognized by the US government. All the non-essential federal government offices are closed on a U.S federal holiday every year, and every federal employee is paid for the holiday. Download a Federal Holiday Calendar 2018 from below. Also, a brief description of each holiday is also given below. If you're interested in knowing why a particular holiday is celebrated then make sure to check the information shared below.

Federal Holidays 2018

NoDateWeek DayHoliday
1January – 1MondayNew Year’s Day
2January – 15MondayMartin Luther King Jr. birthday
3February – 19MondayWashington’s birthday
4May – 28MondayMemorial Day
5July – 4WednesdayIndependence Day
6September – 3MondayLabor Day
7October – 8MondayColumbus Day
8November – 12MondayVeterans’ Day*
9November – 22ThursdayThanksgiving Day
10December – 25TuesdayChristmas Day

As you can see in the table that there are ten Federal holidays, there are four holidays which are observed on the same date every year i.e. New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Veterans Day, and Christmas Day. There is a fixed date for these holidays. While other are floating holidays, their date keeps on changing every year. Also, if a holiday falls on a Saturday then that will be observed on a preceding Friday, but if a federal employee is working on Saturday, then Friday will be a regular workday and the holiday will be observed on Saturday only. Holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed by federal workers the following Monday.

Want to know whether Post Offices deliver mail on Holidays?? Then check out: USPS Holiday Calendar 2018

US Federal Holidays Calendar 2018

   US Federal Holidays Calendar 2018, Federal Holidays, Federal Holidays 2018, 2018 Federal Holidays Calendar

                         US Federal Holidays Calendar 2018, Federal Holidays, Federal Holidays 2018, 2018 Federal Holidays Calendar

List of Federal Holidays 2018

Let’s understand each Federal Holiday one by one in detail and find out the reason why people celebrate these days all over the country.

New Year’s Day: Celebrated on 1st January of every year to celebrate or welcome the new year with joy and happiness. This day marks the beginning of a new year.

Martin Luther King Day: Observed on the third Monday of January each year to celebrates the birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr., which is around King’s birthday, January 15.

Washington’s Birthday: Observed on the third Monday of February in honor of the first President of the United States. 

Memorial Day: Observed on the last Monday every year in the United States for remembering people who gave their lives while serving the country's armed forces.

Independence Day: Celebrated on July 4th every year across the country with joy and happiness to celebrate the freedom of United States from the British Empire.

Labor Day: Observed on the first Monday of the year every year.

Columbus Day: Observed on the second Monday of October. Celebrated as the anniversary of Christopher Columbus’ arrival in the Americas.

Veterans Day: Observed on November 11, every year across the country to honors military veterans i.e. persons who served in the United States Armed Forces.

Thanksgiving Day: Observed in the fourth week of November, every year across the country. This is a floating holiday and can float between 22nd to 28th November, depending on the year.

Christmas Day: Observed on December 25th every year. This day is celebrated as the birth of Jesus Christ.

So these are the Federal Holiday 2018 details and a Federal Holiday Calendar. If you find this information useful then why not share with other people as well who might be looking for US Federal Holidays details. Use the comment section if you anything to say & ask. Your feedback is important to us. Keep on checking this site for more and more calendar templates, holiday calendars, and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *